Adventures in Paris — Part 3

I’d like to call this post the ‘Rue de Rivoli’ since everything in this post can be done in one day along the Rivoli!

Louvre

Start your morning at the Louvre! Yes, I know I don’t really need to say much. I mostly checked out the Greek and Roman antiquities:

As well as African and Asian art/artifacts:

Sexy Lady!

Plus the Paris Pass gave us instant and free entry into the museum. Oh happy day!! By this point, you will start feeling a little sluggish. Time to exit the Louvre, and get some fresh air in the gardens! After a stroll in the shade, get on the Rue de Rivoli to get your tourist shopping out of the way. Rivoli had some of the best prices and more importantly…a chocolate shop!

La Cure Gourmande

194 Rue de Rivoli

I honestly can’t tell if I really like the chocolate or just really love the tin boxes and other pretty Parisian decorated packages they put the chocolates into. Either way, these were the perfect souvenirs I’ve been looking for. Take THAT Eiffel tower key chain!

Angelina’s

226 Rue de Rivoli

Let me just say that I am not a fan of hot chocolate. However, Angelina’s hot chocolate is not normal hot chocolate. I’m almost 100% sure this is actually a gift of the gods. Le chocolat chaud l’Africain is more like a chocolate soup that comes with sugarless whipped cream as well as milk to help reduce the richness of the drink to your liking. Keep in mind, I do not drink coffee and only get my caffeine intake from green tea and the occasional dark chocolate. It is safe to say that I was bouncing off the walls and felt that I could take on at least 12 more museums once I finished my cup. The magic of chocolate!!!

Did I mention there is a pastry shop in the front?

How is this legal?

Infinite kisses to Lindsey & Alyssa for telling us to go here!

Les Invalides

L’Hôtel national des Invalides–Military History of France

Again..free entry with the Paris Pass…!

How this horse was able to move anywhere with that much weight is completely beyond me.

We stuck mostly to the Medieval Pieces…

Possibly the coolest handles I’ve ever seen.

and the World War I & World War II exhibit:

One of my favorite parts of this museum was the exceptional display of every military outfit worn by almost every different rank of soldier for different countries.

Very Haunting.

It was very interesting to see both of the World Wars from France’s perspective (from what I could try to translate). There was one very small room with two pairs of striped pajamas hanging on the wall. I had to hold back tears, which made me wonder if I would be able to get through Auschwitz.

Catastrophic

Hammam de la Mosquée

39 Rue Geoffroy-Saint-Hilaire

Keep in mind the mosque closes after 6 pm so try to get there early! If we had been able to get there earlier, we would have definitely purchased their ‘formule orientale’ for 64 euros, which includes entry to the Hammam, a Turkish scrub, massage, apple tea followed by a [delicious] couscous meal, Turkish pastry and a drink in the restaurant. Sadly, we arrived too late for this deal, so we just stuck with a yummy dinner instead.

Oh god yes.
Vegetable Couscous + Chicken Tagine

Hands down the best couscous I’ve ever had. I am very used to having couscous with vegetables stirred into the couscous or put as a side. I found out that the more traditional way is to have the vegetables in a tomato broth and pour the soupy-veggie mix on top of your couscous! Absolutely delicious. We also ordered the chicken tagine which came with cashews, prunes, and onions in a sweet, flavorful sauce. I was also expecting the food to be very spicy, which is not as enjoyable for me since I spend half the meal guzzling water and sweating/crying.  However this dish was full of spices that made it extremely flavorful, not spicy!

Moroccan Mint Tea

The perfect digestif to end the meal. Sweet, hot, and minty! It was refreshing and also sweet enough to be our dessert for the night.

Thank you Lindsey and Johannah for suggesting it!

xoxo,

La Dolce Vita

One thought on “Adventures in Paris — Part 3

  1. Hi there very nice site!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally?I am happy to search out numerous useful info here within the publish, we’d like work out extra strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

Leave a Reply

