Adventures in Paris — Part 2

Back to Paris we go!

Sacré Coeur

La Basilique du Sacré Coeur de Montmartre

35 Rue du Chevalier de la Barre, 75018 Paris, France

The Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Paris is a Roman Catholic Church and is absolutely gorgeous. It is well known for its many stairs to reach the top of the basilica (in fact it’s the highest point in Montmartre), but it really was not bad especially since you can take breaks at different levels if you get tired. Not to mention the view was worth it…

Street Performers: awesome or creepy? I personally lean towards the awesome side–unless they have friends that try to steal your stuff while you watch the performance. Then it’s WAR.

Sidenote: The basilica is very close to the Dali museum and there are a bunch of side streets with cute boutiques and yummy food. Crepes are especially delicious and not too pricey!

Arc de Triomphe, part 2

If you recall I already spoke of the Arc, but since I have since taken the stairs to the top of the Arc, which is provided in the Paris Pass, I’ll include some pictures of what I saw!

I recommend checking online to see when the sun is supposed to set the day you want to go, and start heading out an hour before so you can catch the sun setting.

Versailles

Let me just start off by saying I love Marie Antoinette. In fact I love her so much that I was her for Halloween and I’m convinced it was my best costume to date (then again, Poison Ivy and Black Swan were pretty damn good).

Marie Antoinette and M.I.A. (shout out to Notes by Neha!)

I also love that time period: the fashion, the food, the parties..it all seems incredible! So you can imagine my utter joy and excitement at the thought of seeing Versailles.

Harry Potter chess scene? Am I right???

Maybe I was tainted by Sofia Coppola’s movie.

Maybe I was delirious from dehydration.

Maybe I was mentally and physically exhausted from the previous excursions throughout Paris.

On the train, post-Versailles.

Maybe it was the waiting in line for two hours just to get inside.

Maybe it was the breathing impairment I felt from being squished into every hallway like a sardine.

Hall of Mirrors

But I did not enjoy Versailles one bit.

Yes, I know we went in August which is without doubt the worst time to go. I think it was also unpleasant because we were so used to skipping all the lines with the Paris Pass that actually having to wait (and wait…and wait) was such a burn. Not to mention the Paris Pass did not cover entry to the garden, which was an additional 8 euro. Good thing I still got some pictures in!

I was also confused by the gigantic displays of modern art that were inserted into many of the rooms and hallways.

Random bedazzled, pink-feathered mini-helicopter.

Don’t get me wrong, it was fantastic (god do I love anything that sparkles), but seemed out of place.

I think I was also expecting to see some extravagant clothing pieces, but unfortunately all they had besides the furniture and paintings was a small room with a few pieces of pottery, chinaware, and clocks.

I think overall I’m glad I saw the Hall of Mirrors, but it really wasn’t worth the waiting and getting pushed around. The palace tour + garden tour is 25 euro, but like I said, Paris Pass will provide free entry to get into the palace, not the garden. I suggest going in the afternoon, packing some yummy snacks, and if you have panic attacks easily and/or are claustrophobic, do not go in August.  Also, keep in mind the train ride is about half an hour and you need to pay about 6 euro to leave Versailles and go back to Paris.

Eiffel Tower

Yes and/or duh. Keep in mind the tower has its night light show 5 minutes before every hour.

’nuff said.

Notre Dame

We unfortunately didn’t have the patience to wait in line, or get soaking wet while we waited in line, so we decided the outside would have to suffice! There is also a pretty garden area behind it where we had a nice picnic.

and of course right near Notre Dame is..

Sainte-Chapelle

2 Boulevard du Palais, 75001 Paris, France

La SainteChapelle is the only surviving building of the Capetian royal palace on the Île de la Cité in the heart of Paris, France.

Once again, I thank my lucky stars for the Paris Pass because instead of waiting in what would have been an hour and a half line, we immediately went through security and walked into the chapel. As my best friend described Saint Chapelle: “The walls are entirely stained glass lancet windows, most of them still in-situ from the 13th century; it’s like a jewel box.” My thoughts exactly–and as I explained before, I’m a magpie and love anything that glistens..

God help me get through this trip without my entire suitcase exploding.

Latin Quarter

I’m pretty sure this is also known as the student district and by far my favorite area of Paris. Delicious food and drinks for very cheap, everyone was very nice, and there were a lot of younger people overall.

Bomb Moroccan Food at Le Chalet de L’Oliver

83 Rue Cardinal Lemoine

Vegetable Couscous—impeccable
Moroccan Mint Tea = Mmmmmmmmm!!!!!

There were also a bunch of bars: The Wall, The Student Bar, etc. The more you walk around the little plaza, the more you will find fun, small bars and plenty of gelato shops:

Gelato Flower for moi!

There were many adventures–some more obvious to-do’s in Paris than the others. I think I’ll have one more post on our overall adventures, especially along the Rue de Rivoli..


xoxo,

Tranquil Zombie

Leave a Reply

