Adventures in Paris — Part 1

I wouldn’t want to bore you with all of the little details, of the trip throughout Paris thus far, so I’ll just give little introductions to what we have done and the pictures to go with it–after all a picture says a thousand words.

Love-Locks

Image

Along the Pont des Arts, Pausserelle Leopold-Sedar, and the Pont de l’Archeveche bridges you will find countless padlocks with lovers’ inscriptions. Don’t forget to throw away the key!Image

Amore Eterno–one of my favorites

Image

Musée d’Orsay

Part of the Paris Pass, we received free entry. The museum used to be a train station and was turned into a museum, though the clock towers remain.

One of my favorite museums simply because it wasn’t so large and overwhelming.

Future wedding room? I think so.

Not to mention a restaurant next to the clock of the clock tower!

Centre Pompidou

Swanky

I enjoyed the outside of this building and the restaurant much more than the art that was inside the building. I’m not a huge fan of modern art–but some of the pieces were outrageous and unforgettable.

So aesthetically pleasing.

Georges— the main restaurant on the top floor of the Pompidou

Balcony seating at Georges

Mind you–I never ate here since I saw countless people look at the menu and walk away in horror at the prices of each item. I assumed as much since all of the waiters wore tuxedos. That didn’t stop me from taking a few pictures though…

Some of the most memorable pieces:

“The Missionary” by Marlene Dumas
Jan Macuska
Yaacov Agam, 1974

I think somebody was a little inspired by Magic Color Scratch Paper:

Andre Lemmonier, 1972

Don’t remember Magic Color Scratch Paper? Here’s a refresher

These magic papers helped me reach all new artistic levels as a child.

I also provided my Bullshit Art Award, which went to Monsieur Agnes Martin (1912-2004)

“Untitled 1”

…Seriously Agnes?

Stravinsky Fountain

Just outside of the Pompidou, there is a fountain full of artwork and is a great resting spot after the museum. Stop by one of the Crepe stands for a cheap, delicious pick-me-up.

Not exactly at Sea World level, but there is definitely some splash zones along the sitting area of the fountain.

Musée de l’Orangerie

Again, this museum was free with the Paris Pass (and you also skip every line!). A very small museum, which has Monet’ piece Les Nymphéas–unfortunately security was watching me like a hawk so I don’t have pictures of the water lilies, but here’s what I could get off the internet along with two quick shots I snapped:

A few pieces from Cezanne, Renoir, Roussea, Modigliani, Laurencin, Matisse, Picasso, Derain, Soutine, Utrille, and Monet were shown in this small 2-level museum.

Arc de Triomphe

I have a serious future in making postcards for tourists.

YES..yes..yes. One of the main tourist spots, but once you see the sun setting–it’s absolutely worth it. To be honest, this is probably the least crowded tourist spot simply because you can see the Arc from so many different streets that it makes crowding into one spot unlikely. Paris Pass provides a free ride to the top (we’re doing that a bit later and will provide pictures soon!)

Waters of Nazareth by Justice

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

